Dexcom G6 Apps - help needed!

Less than a week ago, I started using the Dexcom G6 (am using MDI and Afrezza for corrections.)

I installed the Dexcom G6 app on my Pixel2 phone. (The receiver is my backup.). G6 app has input for quantities of insulin and carbs. That’s it.

I would like to write in notes, and WHAT I eat instead of quantities of carbohydrates. Additionally, it would be most helpful to document Afrezza usage and dosage. What app would allow me to do this? I want to be able to identify “difficult” foods, foods that spike me…etc.
Which app is more flexible in allowing the user to write some notes? I am not that tech savvy and am looking for a simple, easy to use app that will let me:

Look at my BG
Look at the effect on BG of WHAT I ate

It would be more useful and meaningful to me when I see a spike and can tell, for example, it was a banana, rather than 40 g of carbs.

Guidance/suggestions/recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

I would suggest XDrip instead

1 Like

I will ask the obvious question:

What is X Drip and what does the Xdrip do?

Please explain Xdrip simply so that even someone as clueless as I am can understand it.

1 Like

Here is a good discussion, with some sceenshots.
https://forum.fudiabetes.org/t/getting-started-with-g6-xdrip/

Basically xDrip is an android app, that does what dexcom app does AND MORE.

It is grass roots, developed by folks on their own time, to provide a tool more helpful functionality to users, parents, etc. It keeps adding new features, without need for fda approval, so is “use at your own risk”. The latest G6 transmitters send the bg value to xDrip on phone. In xDrip, at any time you can create events to show activity, food, etc.

On android phone you download the latest release, set some parameters, set up bluetooth connections, and after sensor warm up you start seeing the bg values.

2 Likes

It sounds like I must uninstall G6 App and then install XDrip.