Ilet bionic pancreas

Is anyone here using the ilet bionic pancreas? Would love to see a real user review

3 Likes

This is from another post here about the Beta Bonics

Hope this is helpful for you.

Cheers :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Please let me express my opinion. I have been wearing insulin pumps for 43 years. I wish to tell you the pros and cons of this pump starting with the pros then the cons as follows:
Pros:

1. The algorithms are ok except the 45 degree right angle does not respond fast enough to a quickly rising blood sugar caused by stress or dawn phenomenon. Also, if you get 3 meals a day consistently with not much variation in your carbo intake, this pump will be great for you especially if you do not have much stress in your life nor dawn phenomenon. Unfortunately, I got on a pump so that I did not have to ever adhere to schedule and I could have freedom in my life.
    Cons:
  2. I feel like a dog on a 6" leash! The tubing is only 6mm. I cannot go tothe restroom, change clothes, turnover in my sleep, etc. without having to hold the pump in one hand and pass it to the other hand.
  3. Battery life - They recommend that you place the pump on their battery charger everyday for about 15 minutes. The battery life is only about 4 to 5 days without the daily charging and if the battery runs out, you can get into trouble.
  4. Most diabetics have retinopathy and the lighting of the pump screen cannot be read without bright light.
  5. You cannot use the Dexcom transmitter. You have to send all dexcom information to your Iphone. This troubles me because people will steal an Iphone outof your back pocket, but they would never steal a Dexcom Transmitter. If your phone is stolen, you have to get a new phone quickly because it is so difficult to read the pump screen without bright light.