G6 + xdrip + tandem

Hi, I live in Italy and after two years with Medtronic 640g & nightscout my kid is changing technology. Next week we are transitioning to dexcom g6 and tandem IQ. Sounds great except for the fact we use android phones, all incompatible with dexcom. So, I found out I can use third-party app xdrip+ . Problem, I am new to all these three: dexcom, tandem and xdrip+. So I need your collective knowledge. Which of the many releases and pre-releases of xdrip+ should I install? Intuitively, I would go for the latest version (‘pre-release 20210505’) but the instructions I am following from androidaps.readthedocs… do not match the settings I find when installing this version of the app. Instead, they do make sense with the previous ‘latest release 20210308’. So, is it the same whether I go for one or the other version of xdrip+?
Then, provided whatever version I install works well, I will make my daughter’s telephone the master while I will be the follower. My question is, what parameters should I set in my phone to be able to turn off her alarms while she is at school? Thanks!

3 Likes

Welcome to FUD @Maricarmen! Great first question. I am not an xdrip expert, so I will let those with more knowledge weigh in on it. As far as the Dexcom Tandem combination, it works really really well for my son. So glad you are able to change technology. This combo has allowed my son to maintain a sub-7 A1c while living an almost normal life with very little interaction with his diabetes.

1 Like

Thanks Chris. Your son’s experience with dexcom + tandem is encouraging. I am looking forward for a night of good sleep!

2 Likes

In US, Tandem has a mobile app that shows both pump and cgm data, called T:Connect. There is also website to log into and see more history and report data. Can you check if that is available in Italy?

I have both xDrip and Tandem app on my Android phone.

In xDrip, check settings, alarms and alerts.