What is Omniopod Looping?

I am new to OmniPod and I was reading this site. What is Looping? I would love to try it.

3 Likes

Hi @Cathy625, welcome!
In short, looping is the use of a system consisting of a CGM and an insulin pump that has some level of automated insulin dosing based on the glucose readings from the CGM. There are multiple looping methods for different insulin pumps, but for Omnipod there’s currently only one DIY method as far as I know (correct me if I’m wrong).

4 Likes

So it depends a bit on which Omnipod you are using, only one version is loopable (I think). Welcome to FUD @Cathy625! I changed your title slightly to gain replies more quickly. I hope you don’t object.

2 Likes

Soon, the Dash will be loopable too, it’s going through testing. They figured out the bluetooth protocol.

4 Likes

Welcome to the AndroidAPS documentation — AndroidAPS 2.8 documentation gives a good description if you want to use an Android phone. That’s my approach.

I know a little bit about the iphone version, but not enough to provide any guidance.

At first, I’d recommend finding a basal profile that works well for you and be comfortable making the adjustments, but over time, can configure things to automate.

1 Like

I use Loop, the iPhone version. But prior to Loop, I was using AndroidAPS in open loop. I still use it for various reasons, including the UI on my Android which receives my Nightscout data.

If you have any specific questions about these DIY systems, please post! I’ve been using Loop auto-bolus branch since it was released on OmniPod.

2 Likes

A few of us have quite a few years of experience with Omniloop so should be able to address any questions you may have. Ask away!

2 Likes

That isn’t exactly the same thing though.

As of right now, the Dash loop isn’t open source. It is getting FDA approval. Which means that you won’t have the same control over the code and the BG adjustments as you can get from the current version of Loop.