Trying out R+NPH, an experiment: tips from old pros please?

In the spirit of putting my money where my mouth is, the next time I have some time off i’ll hapily do a trial of NPH and regular for a while. I’ve never used them before. I’ll post my observations.

The costs associated will be $24.95 for a fresh vial of R and the same for the NPH. I already have syringes.

I’ll set up a gofundme to help get started (kidding)

4 Likes

@Sam, if you do, stock up on test strips first or charge your cgm…R & NPH are a roller coaster combo that demands lots of work riding spikes and trying to manage stacks unless of course you just opt for higher than normal sugars. I say this as a previously long term Walmart over the counter insulin user (due to my need for financial creativity). I greatly prefer when I can afford them (with insurance) the newer analogs…

And now I step out of this convo…

1 Like

I think my first strategy would be to take 1/4 the daily basal with NPH every 6 hours… hopefully that’ll help to smooth out he basal. And I’ll be eating like times are tough… lots of beans and cheap meats… so hopefully just eating slower foods will match regular reasonably well… We’ll see. Luckily I got an instant pot for Christmas so I think I can make it work out. I always have a ton of strips… debating about whether I should use the cgm… it would be valuable for evaluation purposes and make it easier, but if the point is to prove that you don’t need to have a lot of resources to make it work maybe would be better without?

I think it will be good for my confidence and in he spirit of being Unlimited to give it a whirl…

2 Likes

I used to bolus NPH 4x daily, and R 5-6x daily using Relion Prime meter only when I felt “off”. When I found a CGM on CL and saw the data for the 1st time, I was blown away! All the peaks and valleys oh my! Since i wasn’t testing very much, it was sort of like playing Russian Roulette with insulin.

2 Likes