Newbie here and this T1D thing - anyone use Humulin 70/30 or the Walmart Novolin 70/30 with VLCD?

Would love some opinions on using the cheaper insulins while doing the Dr Bernstein low carb diet. I’m having pretty good results, very few hypos, but looking to dial it in a bit better (i.e. still running ~25 points higher in the morning than I want).

After being diagnosed during dka March 2018 at age 39 - I was given almost zero training on what I needed to do to manage this. 10 months later, 8 week “diabetes class”, Dr B’s book, and many hours online researching - I convinced my clinic at the time to put me on a cheaper insulin Humulin 70/30 (basal NPH / regular R) to try out after the usual Lantus/Novolog regiment (of which the out of pocket was still too high and the Lantus made me retain water). I am forever grateful to the nurse teaching the diabetes class informing me that there are other, cheaper, older insulins that you can buy OTC and without a prescription affordably as I had no idea that existed. Being a frugalist, and putting much emphasis on financial sustainability as I can and calculating the costs of doing the 90 day insulin delivery - I did go on the Humulin 70/30 with pretty good results and an A1C of 6.0. The reason I am doing Humulin over Novolin (Walmart) is that I prefer the kwikpen since I have inexperience with the vials - of which I need to get over eventually.

My questions:

1. Anyone else on the 70/30 regiment?

2. I am planning a future scenario of where I will not have prescription coverage for a few months - anyone here go from Humulin 70/30 to Novolin 70/30 (or even just the R or NPH separately)? Did it work the same?

3. I see threads on buying from Canada. I currently live in south TX - I would like some opinions/experience buying insulin/other supplies in Mexico?