Control too good for CGM

I was really hoping to get on a CGM this year. Dexcom I saying my insurance will not cover it , since my control is to good. I guess they want to see that you are testing at least 8 times a day , and are going under 50 bg and over 250 on a regular basis.

I eat a low carb diet and have an ac1 of 5.2, and just don’t see those numbers. Dexcom keep telling me to submit written bg charts, which sounds like them telling me to fudge the numbers. This isn’t something I am going to do. It immoral , and I wonder if it could look bad at some point that I’m claiming my bg is out of control. I drive for a living now, so it seems like a bad idea to say I’m out of control.

My insurance is Select Health in Utah.

Has anyone dealt with something like this?

Thanks,
Dean

1 Like

Hi Dean,
Not sure who you are talking to at Dexcom, but it is the insurance company that decides it, not Dexcom.

I don’t know of any requirement for bad control in order to get coverage for a CGM. There are some requirements I have seen for certain insurance companies that won’t cover a pump unless your A1C is above a certain number, but I have not seen it for a CGM yet.

Have you talked to your insurance company about it yet? Do you have a copy of your insurance Summary Plan Description (SPD)?

My insurance, as well as many others, absolutely requires problematic control, specifically regular risk of severe hypos (40s or lower) to cover a CGM.

I respect that—it’s what many people end up doing though, and that is indeed what they are hinting at. I would suggest trying to get over the morality thing, except that I see your concerns about the driving component… that does put you in a rough spot. :frowning:

1 Like

As has been mentioned, I would start talking directly to the insurance company. I would appeal, perhaps on a basis of early detection of lows while driving. I myself, would not fudge the numbers, even though that may be the path of least resistance.