Thinking of getting an Apple iWatch 3 during black friday

I’m currently Omnilooping, carrying an iPhone SE as well as a Samsung Galasxy S10+. I’m currently uploading data to tidepool, xdrip/heroku, and Dexcom.

I currently have a Huwawei android wear watch but thinking of switching over to Apple Watch 3.

I’ve never used an apple watch before, so wondering the pros/cons of doing this and what I should use for the dsplay?

I currently like not only seeing my number but the arrow and graph. If I can’t see graph, that’s ok, but at least I’d like to see the number and arrow.

How would I configure it?

I saw someone having it on sale for $139 or was it $129 so that’s tempting me. Is it worth it? My current setup works great, but I hear you can bolus from the watch if I go apple and that kinda interests me.

1 Like

What do you mean, “bolus from the watch”? If you mean you can use the number and direction arrow to figure your bolus, you can do the same thing with the Huwawei watch and xDrip+. If you only trust Dexcom, just run native mode in xDrip+. That gives you the exact same readings as the Dexcom receiver. It takes the readings from the transmitter.

1 Like

Yes, you can bolus from the watch.

It is really cool when it works!

But the problem for me was that when it failed, it did not report the failure. And because I had a few boluses that did not work, I was always left wondering if the watch bolus worked.

If you can look at your iPhone to verify the bolus, it is no big deal.

But if you have to look at your watch to verify it, that kind of defeats the benefit of the watch bolus…

It works for some people (the notification, I mean).

I’d recommend buying it, doing a Loop build and putting it on your watch and testing the heck out of it for 14 days. If it does not work, the apple watch has a 14 day return. So it does not cost you anything to try.

2 Likes

Where do you see it on sale for that price ?