Smartwatches that Work Standalone Data Collector of Dexcom G6

Does anyone know of any new Smartwatches that can work standalone to collect data every 5 minutes from the Dexcom CGM system? The only ones that I know are the Bluejay and the Sony Smartwatch 3, SWR50. I have been using the SWR50 for the last 5 years and it has been the perfect data collector.

I don’t know of any others.

What are the features you are looking for?

I’ve been using BlueJay GTS with varying success. BT signal is pretty weak and drops off frequently. Otherwise it is easy to set up and inexpensive.

1 Like

Love the BlueJay. It is smaller, lighter and cheaper than the Sony, but lacks the transflective screen, so sometimes hard to see when I am riding my bike. I get 98% capture rate, but I wear the watch on the side where the Dexcom sensor is under my arm and change when the sensor moves to the other side. My Sonys died from sweat so I particularly appreciate the quirky magnetic charge cable connector that has gold plated contacts exposed on the back of the watch that have not corroded at all. Just bought a second one for a backup, after checking and finding out they are not close to producing one with a transflective screen. Maybe not everybody’s watch, but it sure is mine.

3 Likes

Hi Eric. I have been using the Sony SWR50 for so long that I sometimes forget the features I use. In addition to the 100% G6 capture rate I also use the card system for both email, text and voice messages. I use the text messaging bidirectional.
I have not had a problem moisture contamination but that might relate to my extra precautions and extra sealings.
The transflective display is also a very good feature.
I do charge the watch each night since for me it is convenient.
I am always looking for a possible furture replacement if necessary. I do have a couple of backups that I use interchangeable.

2 Likes