Omnipod bicep area?

Hi,

I’m pretty much brand spanking new to omnipod or any pump. I have had it for about 36 hours now and already love it. I have been using a dexcom for about 2 months now.

I currently have omnipod on the bottom of my left arm (tricep).

I picked this site for several reasons. With the dexcom I tried first on my stomach and knocked it off in less than six hours. My thighs were INCREDIBLY sensitive to the pain of placing the sensor to the point where I couldn’t force myself to continue pushing the plunger down all the way and wasted a sensor from being a bit of a panty- waist. I tried my inner thigh and while the pain was tolerable the irritation factor was not! I have Asperger’s and while CBT helped with almost everything else I am still really touch sensitive. When trying to sleep and feeling that bit of hard plastic between my legs made me bananas.

I found my bicep to be perfect for my dexcom. No problems at all. Even when I lay on my right side to sleep I don’t notice the dexcom there.

Like I said the omnipod is currently in my left tricep. I’m right handed so thought the back of my left arm would basically be perfect cause I must never use that area. Boy was I wrong. I have RA in my hips and lower spine and have come to realize that getting off the couch involves me digging my elbow and tricep into the couch arm and leveraging to take some strain from my weaker lower right half. I also do this in bed apparently. I also lay on my left side and hold things with my left hand while reading in bed. This is all leading to the omnipod being lightly tugged. It seems admirably stuck on there but it is a worry that I’ll waste large amounts of insulin or pods this way.

I understand that pod placement has a lot to do with the area having a suitable enough amount of fat. I promise, that’s not a problem. I have enough fat on my bicep for two people.