Funny story

As I was posting in another thread, I just remembered a funny story that recently happened and I thought I’d share because I got a kick out of it and you might too.

So my son, Devlin, who is a Junior this year, is super smart and is interested in going into Physics in college, which I’ve previously discussed here. The thing is, though, that all of the knowledge he currently has all been self-taught because he’s not taken a Physics class yet. He’s in a rigorous program at his school (all AP BC courses), but Physics isn’t offered until the Senior year.

So anyway, last summer, he was old enough to get a summer job and he elected to be a tutor instead of doing what I did (flipping burgers) when I was his age. He’s done quite well and has regular kids he now tutors and it’s a great way for him to save money. So, one of his regulars referred him to other parents looking for a tutor for their daughter, another Junior, who was in another school and taking Physics this year. Devlin said OK.

He went there and told the girl and her parents that he’d help her for free because he hasn’t officially taken Physics yet so doesn’t want to charge since he’s not “officially” educated in the topic. Her parents sat there as Devlin was able to answer every question she had (without even looking at her textbooks), and blew the parents away so much that they insisted on not only paying him for this session but also asked Devlin if he could tutor their daughter twice per week from now on, on Physics, a subject he’s still not taken officially and won’t take until next year.

LOL.

Erin and I got a kick out of that. I wish I were 1/10th as smart as my kids are, when I was their ages.

16 Likes

Wow, so impressive! :grinning:

I liked the theoretical physics class I took in highschool, but once I got to college and had to take a couple of calculus-based physics classes I had a BAD time haha.