A little story and a personal lifetime accomplishment

So, when I was a kid, I was raised up in a family that didn’t value education at all. They were uber religious (extreme) and all we did was spent our nights and days studying the Bible and going door-to-door pawning Watchtowers and Awakes. (you can guess which religion from this, I’m sure.) Without parental fostering and concern for the importance of education, kids won’t care and they’ll do as little as they can to get pushed through the system. This was me. I graduated High School (not sure how), with a 1.6 GPA.

I landed an awesome job in the US Army at the ripe age of 17 and off to Europe I went. After serving 11 years and being deployed to 4 combat zones, I finally had enough and got out in 2001. I had no college…maybe 1 or 2 college classes taken while in the Army, but honestly I just didn’t have the drive or motivation to do anything related to education. But then, after my Army life, I entered the Civilian sector and found that I couldn’t land the kind of job that the Army taught me to do…so I started out in my current company as an Administrative Assistant back in 2002.

Our oldest son, Devlin was born and I started asking myself…what the hell am I going to tell my kids when they say “How did YOU do in school if you think education is so important?” We have high standards for our kids in that we expect them to “do their best.” We don’t expect all A’s, but we expect them to “do their best.” But how could I say that with a straight face if I didn’t LIVE this myself? So, I set out in 2002 once I joined up with my current company to fix that broken thing in my life. My goal? The same as I ask my kids…to “do my best.”