Expired sensor and transmitter

How long can sensors and transmitters be expired before they can’t be used anymore? A friend gave me several boxes became he’s allergic to the glue that holds them on. I’ve had them for a few months now and just noticed some are expired and some are about to expire. Please help if you can

2 Likes

@TommyGadd

While I’m no expert, I’ve started sensors beyond their expiration date and started a transmitter close to it’s expiration date so that it was officially expired at the end of the 90-110 day usage period. Didn’t have problems in either case.

I would suggest trying to use them oldest first, keep as close eye on them, but hope for the best.

Good luck,

John

6 Likes

Thanks John I appreciate the help. I’ll try one and see how it does, but I’ll continue to check blood sugar to see how close it is. Hate to throw them away

4 Likes

I restart my sensors and built a nest egg so I have used sensors well past the date of expiration. They seem to work the same at least a few months past the expiration dates.I think I’ve used ones at least 4-6 months past. They might not last as long on restarts. So I suppose some of it might be linked to how long a normal sensor lasts on you. If you are one of the people you barely get 9-10 days from one, you might have more of a problem.

The transmitters are a different story. They have a battery that does lose it’s “shelf life”.I have used them past their expiration too, but one only lasted a few weeks after and another a few months. Someone did say they got a full 90 days from a transmitter that expired. But transmitters are touchier because of the battery. You know a sensor is going bad when it starts to lose it’s signal a lot and maybe gives you some wild numbers. A transmitter will start to lose it’s signal when it goes too.

6 Likes

Nothing to add on the primary question, but a recommendation for your friend: