Does anyone use the tandem pump

PLEASE HELP: I have been using Medtronic pumps since I started on a pump. (about 24 years with Medtronic) Recently a few people and my new endo have recommendid to me that I try out the Tandem Pump, that it will work well with the Dexcom and i could do a closed loop system. According to my Medicare Insurance, I have to stay on the Medtronic (the 770G) for another 2yrs before i can change pumps. But, perhaps my doctor can override that requirement.

Has anyone used the Tandem? Any info would be helpful and i am hoping that some FUD members will reach out to me.

Thanks ahead of time!

DM

4 Likes

Hi Daisy - I have been using the tandem pump for about 8 years now - it is the only pump I’ve ever used. I’m sure there are past threads where people talk about the Tandem’s pros and cons. I don’t know about medtronic so can’t compare.

I did a quick search and didn’t find anything all that new or all that topical. Does anyone have a link for @daisymae?

As I recall from prior discussio people don’t like the tubing vs. the omnipod. Personally, i like the “control iq” feature which is sort of like adaptive cruise control. You have to pay some attention, but the system is making some adjustments for you - it even has some limited automatic bolusing.

7 Likes

Thanks bostrav59. I dont want to try the pod bc i dont want to attach anything else to my body. But i am interested in the loop system. The less I need to test the better. My fingers are so scared from years of finger sticks its just awful.

3 Likes

I’m on my second Tandem pump. I used Medtronic prior to Tandem. Overall I think it is a great pump.

I love the mobile app and the ability to bolus from the app. (Note you can’t do all pump action on the app. Most things you still handle on the pump.)

My biggest complaint is the Dexcom connection to the pump can be problematic. It seems to be dependent on sensor location and where your pump location. Not a huge issue, but annoying at times.