Best way to use FreeStyle Libre 2

Hi everybody, it’s my first post here. I’m Italian so forgive my English :slight_smile: My mum is a Type II and my grandmother was too. At 48 years old I feel I’m slowly entering in a prediabetic phase of my life and I’ve decided not to be passive.

First of all, I want to take the full control of what I eat (I use to eat a lot of carbs …) and to do that I got a CGM to check out how what I eat influence my glycemia (I’m an engineer and I think I can find the energy to start a new way of life - or eat - if I have a numerical approach …).

As mentioned in the object I got a FreeStyle Libre 2 and I’ve done a little bit of search to find which is the best way to use it for my purpose: understand how the glycemia change when I eat a specific food to get control of glucose spikes.

I hope this was not discussed before, but it doesn’t seem to me.

Basically, I found three different ways (with different apps) to use FreeStyle Libre 2 without the need to buy an external hardware (MiaoMiao or others):

1. the original app LibreLink

2. Juggluco

3. oop 2 in combination with xDirp+

This is what I’ve understood about these solutions.

LibreLink

LibreLink is the original Abbott app, is very user friendly and allows to note down what you eat.

It is also rich in numbers (average reading, periods of more frequent spikes and so on).

Unlike the other two solution, the sensor must be scanned to have a real time reading. Despite that, the sensor saves all the readings in a period (8 hours?) so when it’s scanned the app get the “current” reading and the last X hours of readings. Is it right?

So → if I want to have all my records saved I’ve to scan the sensors every X hours.

Juggluco