Best brands of pen needles and syringes?

I had a hard time finding 12.7mm BD needles that were reasonably priced. I always buy BD so I have no experience with other brands.

What are other brands of pen needles and syringes that people like?

I order these. I’m not sure if they’re available in the U.S.

1 Like

These Unifine Pentips appear to be a lot cheaper than BD in the US for long pen needles (1/2", 12.7mm):
https://www.amazon.com/Unifine-Pentips-29G-12MM-Needles/dp/B01KP0C1CE

Made by Owen Mumford: they are a reputable medical equipment manufacturer.

I can’t tell you how to find the other brands of pen needles or the BD needles, but I will say that we had a long conversation once at a wedding brunch with somebody who works for BD in the sharps department, and they explained clearly the engineering that goes into creating a BD pen needle, and we’ve never wanted to use another brand since. It really is one of the moments that upgrading to the name brand paid off. Prior to that we’d tried whatever generic was at the pharmacy and EH found them more uncomfortable once we made the switch.

2 Likes

@Michel, due to cost and my absurd (at the time) Rx deductible, I would purchase Caretouch brand pen needles from Amazon. They are generally $9.00/box of 100 and work as well IMHO as the BD brand. For syringes, I went to my local Walmart where I paid ~$13.00/box of 100.

2 Likes

My favorite pen needles are novofine, although I don’t see a 12mm available, I think novofine edges out bd in terms of overall quality and comfort for pen needles

3 Likes

I think the key here is that @Michel is specifically looking for 12 mm needles rather than the standard 4, 6, or 8 mm ones. BD used to make 12.7 mm needles, but my understanding is this length has now been discontinued (probably why they are hard to find and expensive).