T:slim - taking the plunge

I’m planning to ask my doctor to fill out the forms at my appointment in about a month.

Anything you wish you had known before starting?

No app in Canada, but we do have Control-IQ. And I have an iPhone and likely getting an Apple Watch soon.

4 Likes

We took the plunge almost 5 years ago and have been happy with our decision. At the beginning we were worried that the Omnipod would have been a better choice, but thanks to the many awesome people here we got to try some and figured out they weren’t the right choice for us. Do ask for samples of the different infusion sets to find the right one for you.

1 Like

I guess it’s not “taking the plunge” in terms of pumping (I’ve been pumping for 14 years now), just taking the plunge in terms of finally going for a pump I’ve been eyeing for years now.

I think all of the t:slim infusion sets are the same as the old Animas infusion sets, and if so then I’m familiar with all of them. Infusion set choice is one of the reasons (among many small reasons) that I’m wanting to move away from the pump I’m using now. I much prefer the Contact-Detach/TruSteel set to the one steel set that works with my current pump.

1 Like

Do you mean no T:Connect phone app? Hope you will have corresponding web app with uploader?

If so, that’s a bummer since when I started last year the T:Connect phone app was very helpful to automatically see real time data on one screen, including cgms trend and bolus/basal on same timeline. Made my transition easier.

I also use xDrip on android phone (instead of dexcom app) which then updates my Fitbit watch, and vibrates for alarms that I selected. Hope you can do similar on Apple soon.

I ended up using basal rates that are a bit higher than when on medtronic, but most days the Control-IQ modifies basal such that daily average is about the same, or slightly higher then on Medtronic pump.