Switching from Dexcom to Libre

After four years of self-funding the Dexcom, and being denied coverage for both Dexcom and Libre through my insurance, my insurance just revised their Libre coverage rules and at 3:30 AM this morning I woke up to find that I’d received coverage! :heart_eyes:

I’ve never used the Libre before. So I’m wondering if anyone else has made this transition from a full CGM to a Libre. I know it seems like a bit of a downgrade, but during the day I honestly don’t often need the alarms because I check so frequently (every 15-30 minutes typically). And during the night I usually sleep through any alarms. So I don’t think much would change. The fact that I will no longer have to stretch supplies to their limit or pay thousands of dollars a year on this stuff is a huge relief!

I’ll look into getting one of the unofficial sensor add-ons that can convert to a full CGM, at least to use overnight or other unusual times, such as when travelling.

I am really hoping I don’t have any tape or sensor reactions with the Libre. I tolerate Dexcom well, but I’ve read that people seem to react more to the Libre than the Dexcom.

9 Likes

The Libre2 includes alarms, so may want to check into that. It is not FDA approved yet for US.

1 Like

I switched a while ago due to cost. Like you, I slept through the alarms at night and rarely used them during the day, so I don’t miss them. I had my Dexcom rigged to my smartwatch using xDrip, so I do miss just being able to glance, but other than that I think I prefer the Libre. It’s easier to insert, the sensor stays on better without any help, I like that it’s easier to wear on my arm and for whatever reason I find it more accurate most of the time. I often had drop outs, wonky readings or long periods of ??? with the Dexcom, but the Libre gives a reading every time unless there is a sensor problem, which is rare. I also find it’s better at catching spikes.

3 Likes