Purchasing insulin in Canada in person?

I am curious about how insulin purchases work in Canada, and hoping that some of our Canadian friends can enlighten me!

I understand that you can purchase insulin without prescription, is that correct?

What are street prices for a long acting insulin like Lantus, and a short acting insulin like Humalog or Novolog?

How about FIASP street prices?

Are there large differences in pricing between different pharmacies? is it cheaper to buy online when in Canada?

Thanks for satisfying my curiosity! These practical details may actually be very useful to those of us ending up, accidentally, in Canada for a weekend :slight_smile:

1 Like

Of course, I’ve no real experience here except that I did similar research earlier this year. Still planning my run for the border, but for now my order with Mark’s (Thanks again, @Eric) is holding me over. What I was at least told was that a paper rx from a US doctor would be handy. The pharmacists there do the prescribing on site. I’m not real convinced that the paper script is essential to tell the truth, and it seemed like this might vary from individual pharmacist to pharmacist. When pressed on the phone about this, the two with whom I spoke seemed to say it was a matter of peace of mind for them in dosage rather than an essential, but I never confirmed this in person.

Eager to hear what those with actual experience might say.

7 Likes

The last time I re-ordered Omnipods, I bought some insulin from the same website that I order the pods from. I did not give them a prescription because hey - it is Canada - and the pharmacist knows I have diabetes.

Remember the prices are in Canadian dollars, so you need to multiply by 0.8 to get US dollars. All the insulin prices are on the website including Fiasp. The prices are pretty much the same as online as at any other walk-in pharmacy. Within a couple of dollars