Medtronic 780G - first 4 weeks

I can’t find any other people’s experience of using the 780G & thought this might be of interest.
I live in Switzerland & was fortunate to be an early user of the 780G. I’ve now being using it for 4 weeks & am generally very happy.

Before switching I had been using an old Veo pump with Dexcom G6, Xdrip & FIASP.
I got good TIR (>90%) but with relatively high standard deviation (1.6) & many short term highs & lows. This meant almost every night was disturbed & I had to eat a lot of quick acting carbs to control the low BGs.

Control
Since starting with the 780G, my TIR has improved: 14 day average = 96%
I have managed several days of 100% TIR.
Standard deviation has reduced to 1.2 (some days <1.0)
Exercise (running) is the main cause of going outside range. I’m still learning how best to control this using the ‘temp target’ feature.
Control at night is great resulting in regularly having a good night’s sleep for the first time in 10+ years.
My consumption of short acting carbs (glucose, sugar, sweets) to avoid or treat low BGs has reduced dramatically.
Average BG has increased slightly (I think) because the SmartGuard target can’t be set lower than 5.6.

SmartGuard
SmartGuard controls BG by auto-applying basal or micro boluses.
When I’m exercising (eg hill walking) it can switch of basal for many hours (my daily basal is only 8 units normally)
SG sometimes makes unexpected actions
E.g. one evening recently, after several lows & highs, I used my BolusWizard before dinner.
I entered 45g carbs & the BolusWizard gave me no insulin!!!
I ignored this & entered an additional 45g carbs & the BolusWizard gave me the expected amount of insulin.
I was quite worried that I would get a very low BG but in fact control after my meal was OK
I discussed this with Medtronic support – their explanation was that SmartGuard thought I was trending to a low BG & consequently gave me no insulin. It would have corrected any highs with auto-boluses.