670g problems: why microbolus when low BG going down?

I’m new to pumps period and started with the 670g, not sure it was the greatest idea. In manual mode I’ve done very well, the trainer that’s working with me said it was the best she’s ever seen. That being said the switch to auto mode has been awful. The biggest thing is the micro bolus do not bring me back into range at all. The bigger thing that happened this morning was my sg was 52 and it gave me a micro bolus, really my bg was 102. The issue of the gap in readings aside if my sg was 52 that’s what the pump thought my glucose level was. Why did it deliver insulin? Medtronics was zero help on this they referred my to my trainer and doc. They aren’t going to be able to say why your pump did something that it in no way should have. Had anyone else seen this?

3 Likes

Welcome to FUD, @Dragonspirt35!

@Nickyghaleb and friends, what do you think?

I am sorry you aren’t able to understand how your pump is behaving. That is in large part why we have stayed away from any of the black box type algorithms, i.e. my son and I are too much of control freaks. I hope you get a satisfactory answer, but I suspect it will be less satisfying than it should.

2 Likes

Thank you. I’m a control freak too. My trainer was astonished that i asked how to record the carbs I ate to counter a low so I could do my best to not have a spike afterward.

2 Likes

This is exactly our fear and why we don’t do the loop right now.

That’s a great practice! My son and I constantly use data to figure out best practices, in this and other areas.

Btw, we use MyNetDiary for logging, but, by now, I feelt there are better options.

These are copies of text from medtronics