Lifelong learning

I thought I would start this thread out of curiosity. I love learning new skills and knowledge and I am guessing that some others on this site might be the same. :slight_smile: My chellenge is that there’s too much I want to learn and too little time and energy.

Anyone else? What have you self-taught yourself or learned through taking courses out of pure interest? What’s on your to-learn list next? (Maybe I shouldn’t ask this question, I might get more ideas to add to my long to-learn list!)

4 Likes

I want to learn how to keep my Bg at 100 with an SD of 15. :smile:

5 Likes

This might sound odd, but I am trying to increase my awareness of exact amounts of carbs and proteins I eat so that when I need insulin I will be better prepared. Have already changed to Keto diet. Yes, I follow Dr Bernstein.

I read a lot and have a Libre to watch glucose trends. Future read will include Sugar Surfing, when I transition to insulin.

I would also like to go to a conference. I don’t really know anyone, outside forums and Facebook, that is Diabetic. The diabetic education group around me is pretty lame. Only 5 people, all retired and T2, showed up. The meeting I went to just talked about hurricane preparedness. (I’m in south Florida) Only useful information was that I could get extra supplies, 3 month instead of 1 month, due to potential hurricane. Did get some nice lotion samples.

My goal, normal glucose levels, two feet with 5 toes each, no dialysis, good eyesight, and total independence until the day God takes me home.

3 Likes

Ha, I actually had non-diabetes learning in mind when I posted this. :slight_smile:

But yes, learning how to keep my BG flatlined at all times would be nice!

3 Likes

Same for me. I plan to go to TCOYD conference next year, and possibly go to Joslin medal award.
In past I have attended Diabetes Unconference and may attend again.