It finally happened

Some of you may remember some posts i had created a year or two ago reference the loss of my contract (defense contractor) i had been working on for the past 15 years. Well, it’s finally happening. January 15th is it. We’ve spent the past few months transitioning the new team who is taking over the contract.

The good news is that i was picked up immediately for a new position with the same company. The new job comes with a promotion and quite a substantial pay raise. The down side is that i no longer have the option of teleworking… In my current role, i only go into the office twice per week. In my new role i have to be in the office 5 days per week. With a drive each way of 1.5 - 2 hours, it isn’t going to be pleasant. I have discovered; however, that there are a few people who lives down my way so there may be an opportunity to carpool, save the environment a little, and used the express Lanes for free (if 3 are in the vehicle, the express Lanes have no cost).

The new contract I’m switching too is a ten year contract with 9 years or so remaining on it… So job security is awesome.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to the future but I’ll miss my team I’ve worked with for going on 2 decades now.

Cheers to you all for your new year’s commitments and goals. I’ll be spending The next decade or so getting some real world experience in an area i am certified in but have no real world experience as of yet. Putting this knowledge into actual application is going to be very exciting.

Cheers to you all for 2020!!

25 Likes

Sounds like a fabulous opportunity, and an excellent start to 2020! I hope you are eventually able to do some telecommuting. Cheers to a fantastic 2020 for all of us on FUD!

8 Likes

Facing similar career transitions in near future as well. Best of luck

9 Likes