Is it possible to replace an Omnipod PDM's Internal Battery (Eros system, not Dash)? If so, how?

I have been using an Omnipod Insulin pump for about 5 years, and in that time have gone through about 5 PDMs that work with Eros pods (the generation the predates the new Dash pods). What seems to cause them to fail each time is what tech support tells me is an “internal battery” problem. Essentially, the PDMs have an internal battery that keeps the settings if you remove the 2 AAA batteries from the PDM (necessary every week or so). If this internal battery wears out, anytime you remove these AAA batteries, the PDM will reset, and you will need to replace your active pod and reset your clock.

The advice I’ve gotten is to change your PDM batteries when changing your pod. This is alright if you remember to do it. However, a bigger problem is that dropping the PDM can sometimes cause a brief loss of power. This causes the PDM to reset and the error to happen. This is not sustainable and has caused failure after failure lately…

I have a new Dash PDM now, but it will not work with my supply of Eros pods, and my warranty is expired on my Eros PDM so that Omnipod will not replace it or fix the issue in any way. They suggest I buy a replacement PDM out of pocket. However, it seems to me that a better way to handle it would be to just replace the internal battery myself, assuming I can find one commercially available. Though, I have not found any advice on doing this on the internet. I’m sure it must be possible! I am a handy person, but I could use advice. Does anyone have any information about how to do this internal battery replacement?

Side note: if anyone has an Eros PDM they don’t need anymore, I could use it!