I finally turned pro this past weekend

Hi everybody. I wanted to share this…

I have run a lot of races. Every once-in-a-while I might win something, like a medal or a plaque. Sometimes I have won things like athletic bags or drinking glasses. One time I won a gift certificate to a sporting goods store, which was a nice prize. And sometimes after a race, the only thing I “got” was mad at myself for not doing well.

But despite my many years of doing this, I have never won any money. Until this past weekend.

I really wanted to do this, and for one ridiculous reason. Even if I never win anything again, I have lost my amateur status. I am now a professional. I am no longer eligible to compete in NCAA Division I, NJCAA, or NAIA athletics.

Every time you go to the doctor’s office, they ask you to fill out their form. And there is always a place on there to list “Occupation”. From now on, I will put “professional endurance athlete” on that form.

How much time do you want to spend talking about my blood sugar now, Doctor? :grinning:

I had a couple of takeaways from this…

First of all, I have heard a lot of things throughout the years that have motivated me. I have been motivated by all the times I heard “you can”. But I have also been motivated by all the times I heard “you can’t”.

I realized that it’s possible to be motivated by anything I hear. Which is great, because I know that I do not need to hear anything one way or the other. Go ahead and tell me I can. Or go ahead and tell me I can’t. Either way works fine.

And the other thing I got from this weekend was that it hurt really bad toward the end of the race, but there were a few angels I know from FUD that I tucked into my heart for the race. I appreciated how they kept me going. Thank you little ones! I brought you with me! :heart:

Here is the note I had on my treadmill while getting ready for this. It didn’t say much, but it said enough.