Frustration with Omnipod Dash

I have been using the Dash pumps for a couple of months now and am having more issues with post-meal spikes, bruises at the insertion sites, and not getting a full 3 days from too many of the pumps than I ever did with the Eros pods! I don’t know what gives but I am seriously thinking of taking a pump break.

Here’s an example: Yesterday I changed the pump and my blood sugar was steady around 110-115 per a calibration fingerstick.I pre-bolused for dinner and felt the insulin going in. The sensor readings were a little jumpy (as expected with a new sensor) but it looks like 1.5 hours after the bolus my blood sugar started climbing fast. I gave myself more insulin and walked laps around my house for a total of 30 minutes. My BG topped out around 200 (per the CGM) and then started coming back down very slowly.

This same pattern has occurred several times after a pump change (I am going to start tracking the frquency) and I don’t know why. I haven’t been eating treats or made any changes to my diet. The Dash pods look much like the Eros pods to me but I am wondering if maybe the cannula material has changed? Or something else has changed??? Is anyone else having similar issues? Thanks for any insights or suggestions. :pray:

6 Likes

Switched from Eros to Dash months ago and have had no issues. We hold the skin up at the front during insertion like we did with the Eros Pods.

So sorry you are having these issues.

4 Likes

Thanks for your reply! I do as well and also press lightly over the cannula area during insertion.

Glad Liam is doing well the the pumps. :smiley_cat:

4 Likes

I’ve always had a bit less absorption the first few hours on Dash and now Omnipod 5. I will not eat a meal after a pod change because of this.