Eggnog... to treat lows

Still working through the eggnog before it is no longer available in the stores!

i’m not a big fan of eggnog, but my husband is crazy about it. but he drinks it slowly so we have it in the fridge for about a month. :wink:

and PS: why dont you just hoard the eggnog? buy out the stores supply…

1 Like

I do that with the liquor variety that doesn’t need to be refrigerated. And for the milk variety, I always buy a few extras and put it in the freezer and open it up in June and July. :grinning:

But for the milk type I can’t keep drinking it all year long. I would if they made it year-round.

3 Likes

i didnt know that there were varieties of eggnog. have you ever had espresso with fire water? kind of like an italian version of a hot toddy?

also, i would have figured you as one who made your own eggnog from scratch. (that way you could always have it year 'round.)

2 Likes

I was very poor as a student (I was a student for many years…), so I would make eggnog every year from scratch. My recipe is very similar to this one, except I only used rum (the bourbon and cognac were out of my reach):

When I make it these days it is very popular: I always get asked to make more next year! I occasionally make some at random times during the year. I don’t think I have ever bought any ready-made eggnog.

4 Likes

I used to make it from scratch every Christmas Eve with all the good stuff - raw eggs and cream (and some type of liquor in it - which one didn’t seem to matter too much).

But that was many years ago when the days had more hours in them. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

do you enjoy espresso with sambucco instead of hot toddies? (b/c of your italian blood :wink:) it is the perfect time of year for that drink as well.

do you carry a flask ?

3 Likes

I’m all for hoarding. I have 6 containers of peppermint ice cream in my freezer!

4 Likes

omg, @CarolynA, you are so READY!