Bolusing for low GI/Slow Digesting Carbs

i know this might seem like a silly question considering how much i generally eat, but i have little experience when it comes to bolusing for foods like lentils, peas, corn, etc.

i know that YDMV, but i was curious to know how you bolus (using an insulin pump) for these types of foods.

please share your methods to give me a general idea of where to start from.

thanks in advance,
DM

Corn is higher carb, peas lower.
Lentils have protein also. (mid carb?)

I would expect corn and peas to hit relatively quick so would do a normal bolus based on carb count.
Lentils slower. Sometimes we have lentil pasta and would use an extended bolus for that.

In addition to using extended for “slow” foods, if the total carb count for the meal gets in the 50+ range then we are going to need an extended bolus regardless.

1 Like

I bolus for lentils half up front, half about an hour later.

Peas I don’t even bolus for because my son usually eats so few. Same with corn. But popcorn I just bolus upfront for all the carbs.

1 Like

thats interesting, b/c i can bolus 100% upfront for simple high carbs foods. but i do need to pre-bolus for them.

1 Like

@daisymae
Even if the total carb count gets very high?
What if simple carbs but something like 80 carbs total for the meal?
Would that still all just be a single upfront bolus?

For that there is no doubt we would plunge low and then ride the roller coaster train for hours later if we did not extend it.