Augmentin and BG spikes?

I just heard from @daisymae, who is recovering from sinusitis. She is going to start taking augmentin.

I mentioned to her that I heard it can cause BG spikes. I think she said she has taken it before, but sometimes it is hard to differentiate a spike from the antibiotic versus a spike from the illness.

Does anyone else have any experience with augmentin they can pass along to her? I don’t recall if I have ever taken it, so I have no personal experience to pass along. Thanks.

3 Likes

I don’t think there’s any known or documented mechanism by which it could spike blood sugar directly… but as you say it’s not unlikely that whatever she takes it for could be wreaking havoc.

I’ve taken it before and not had any problems…

Some people think it’s a good idea to take probiotics at the same time which can reduce the disruption to intestinal balance… and have other benefits for women taking antibiotics

Feel better soon @daisymae

4 Likes

just to keep everyone in the loop:

I started the Augmentin yesterday afternoon, and not only did I NOT spike, but my BGs actually went down to 44 (after drinking tons of water and other glucose lowering fluids)

I had no issues with it overnight, and my BGs have been in perfect target range (while I am on a TB of 130% ) (60s - 90s)

so for anyone out there, imho, from my experience, Augmentin does not cause BG spikes.

PHEW.

@Eric mentioned that I might expect to spike from taking the Augmentin. I just want to report that not only did I NOT go high from it, but my BG went down to 44 after drinking (too much) water and other glucose lowering fluids. (Thank god for those incredible Chocolate Truffles :yum: )

I am expected to start feeling better after about 72 more hours when the Augmentin really starts doing its job. however, I am on a twice a day, 7 day course of it and was told that even if I am feeling better after the 72 hours, I should not do so much until I finish the full course of the med.