Afreeza and lung issues

I have a an endo visit coming up and I’m thinking about bringing up Afreeza.

I have concerns about my ability to actually use it. I have breathing issues, although I have not been labeled as having asthma I have been described as borderline. Breathing problems are not an issue for me until allergy season starts when I can find myself with a mild wheezing cough or with an occasional bout of bronchitis. This leads me to believe that I am not a good candidate but when I read of the success many people have it makes me want to try.

Would I be wasting my time if I gave it a shot?

If I was a doctor and my patient said they wanted to use Afreeza but they were concerned as they sometimes have breathing issues, I can not see myself (as a doctor) ever writing a prescription for that patient.

That would sound like a medical malpractice suit begging to be had.

The question for me is can Afreeza cause permanent lung damage. I have not read that it can, if not why would it hurt to try.

Has it been in use long enough and in people with breathing problems for them to have good data on that though? My understanding is that it’s generally contraindicated for people with breathing problems, so wouldn’t that prevent data from being gathered on the effects of long term use in that population?

Per the FDA: Acute bronchospasm has been observed in patients with asthma and COPD using AFREZZA.

If you can get a doctor to write a prescription and if you are comfortable with the risks then that is a personal decision.

Exactly. If you don’t have diagnosed chronic asthma and/or COPD you’re in the clear.

Ps-- the FDA expert committee didn’t even recommend it be counter-indicated for those who do. Statistically Introducing far higher risks to your health by not exercising every day than by taking an approved medication as directed