Your experience with G6 sensor errors?

I’ve been using Dexcom G6 sensors for about 3 1/2 months and everything has been going really well. The last sensor I even restarted twice and it worked fine for 30 days. Today for the first time I got a sensor error after a bad low, down to 44 and had a hard time getting it to come back up. Do the sensor errors fix themselves? And on average how long does it take before they come back? If they come back, do they behave? Do they have to be calibrated? Looking for your experience with sensor errors. Thanks.

2 Likes

How many days had this physical sensor been in use to this point ?

1 Like

@Thomas
Today is the 17th and it “expires” the 19th.

1 Like

Hey @Jan!

In my experience, a sensor error absolutely can fix itself. The only catch is that the older the sensor gets, the less likely it will be able to do it reliably or with any kind of speed. I also extend my sensors and am willing to tolerate with a certain amount of breaks in the graph, but once it starts becoming so sensitive that I’m losing signal every time I offend it with a movement in blood sugar, I pull it. That part never seems to improve. Once I’m there, I’m there. Honestly, I don’t even bother with calibrating because it’s just a matter of time. If I want something sharp, responsive, and on top of things, I need to put in a new sensor. If I’m just milking it, then I don’t really trust it anyway and am making up in finger sticks what I’m lacking in faith. If that makes sense… ??

4 Likes

Is this the first session or extended? I was wondering how many days this particular physical sensor has been used already.

1 Like

Agreed and same.

2 Likes

@Thomas
Sorry, I wasn’t very clear. Today is the 8th day of this sensor. It hasn’t been restarted (yet).
And it did come back on, and has tracked well with finger sticks, so all seems good! Thank you!

We just got the G6! It is…was great???