Today marks 11 years

11 years ago ive became a diabetic. a lot has changed for me. pump, cgm, etc. so for you what has it been like and what changes have you made and seen?

3 Likes

Congrats on the milestone AMC!

1 Like

thanks! i still have ways to go tho as we all do. but im glad to be on the pump and cgm. i dont think i could be a diabetic that well without it

1 Like

Congratulations!

In a couple week I’ll mark my 11 year pumpaversary. :slight_smile: (Ironic that I’m doing a trial of Tresiba, so may not even be on a pump for that date.)

I just passed my 26 year diaversary and I’m still learning.

2 Likes

Gratz @amymc!

:)…now that is a new word, pumpversary :)…i like it :)…i dont know when mine was. i just know it was during the cold weather season. but cant pinpoint when. same with the cgm…i got that around the same time as the pump

thanks!

Mine was this year too! 27 in June. Also still learning!

Things are so different, I don’t even know where to start except to say I’m sometimes jealous in a way of the kids who are born into this era of diabetes care instead of when I was, but I’m sure the people way before me might have felt the same thing toward my cohort, and so it goes. I think the not having to match your food intake all day to the combo shot of R/NPH (or Lente) you took in the morning 30 min before breakfast was a major change that made diabetes suck less.

2 Likes

Yup. One shot of R and NPH in the morning is what I started with, too. Actually, I think for the first three weeks I just took one shot of NPH in the morning, but I ran ridiculously high the entire time, so they added in R (I still have that first logbook).

At least we had meters. But nothing much was done with those four daily readings except to adjust the next morning’s R/NPH dose.

Sometimes I feel like today’s diabetes, with pumps and CGMs, is an entirely different disease. Though I’m very glad for the advances and better control.

2 Likes