To Diluent or Not to Diluent

I am creating a thread to discuss diluting of insulin for toddlers. I have in my possession a batch of diluent as well as some sterile empty vials. I’m ready to begin experimenting but wanted to get input from those who have done it.

Best use cases?
Mix percentages and their uses / benefits?
When NOT to use it?

Keep in mind that I’m a novice at this…I know exactly nothing other than the conversations had here over a year ago.

My goal, or what I had in mind, when I ordered the diluent was to somehow control his nighttime lows where even .05 sends him low, but dismissing too long (which happens when sleeping) ends up causing highs. But I’m interested in any and all specific information or use cases where I could test the diluent with Liam as well as any insight into helping me make sure I mix and do things correctly.

Thanks!

I know my diluent use is much different than yours, but I can tell you how I use it if you are interested.

1 Like

Yes, I would be open and receptive to any and all ideas about this topic. I’m an open and blank book where diluents are concerned.

I use a diluted pen or diluted syringes for races.

For the pen, I have it preset for 0.10 unit doses. In a race, as little as 1/2 of a unit could knock me out. I would only need 1/2 unit if something had gone horribly wrong. Since pens only go down to 1/2 units, I need to dilute it.

I use the diluted pen as a backup for the pump in long races. In short races, I only carry the diluted pen or diluted syringes.

Sometimes rather than using a pump or pen, I will use pre-loaded diluted syringes. I do different amounts, and color-code them. I have a container that holds them and gives me easy access.

Each of these color-coded syringes has a different amount:

• 0.075 (green)
  • 0.150 (blue)
  • 0.225 (orange)
  • and one syringe (the red one), is the “oh hell” syringe and has 0.50 units

Here it is: