Tidepool Development Updatee

Tidepool updated its development effort on their Tidepool Loop effort:

https://www.tidepool.org/blog/tidepool-loop-development-update

7 Likes

Thanks, that is quite an update. Glad they are getting traction and have a path forward with the FDA and manufacturers.

3 Likes
We believe closed loop therapy should be the standard of care for people with diabetes who require insulin,

I really think this is jumping the gun on the limits of technology.

First, I have been using a Dexcom every day for over fifteen years, since before the STS3 was first made available. I have used every iteration of the device. There is not a snowball’s chance that I would trust it’s accuracy for the dosing of my insulin on a 24 hour per day basis. No matter what Dexcom says, or how their MARD is FDA approved, the Dexcom has gross discrepancy from actual blood glucose at least every day or two.

Second, I have never used an insulin pump, but from what I’ve read flow stopping errors are not that uncommon. The technology, no matter how much better it is than 10 years ago, is nowhere near foolproof.

It will happen that the technology is up to the task. But to make it the standard of care at this point would be dangerous.

4 Likes

I understand your apprehension @docslotnick. I’ve been using DIY Loop for @ 8 months now and am overall extremely happy with the results. My issues, as you suspect, are related to Dexcom and Omnipod failures. These issues would exist even if I didn’t use Loop though. I know to be especially attentive during sensor and pod changes, as well as other times when they could fail for no apparent reason, which can account for many hours essentially open looping!