Tandem control IQ What to do if you forgot to bolus for food

Hello all.
54yrs TD1,
New to control IQ.
Great TIR- like 91%, so I’m thrilled.

But, my excurions high occur at times that i “grab a taste of that treat sitting there”, or testing the flavors as i cook.
Things i forgot to program until i run over 200.

I get myself into trouble dosing then wth over treating. I see the IOB is higher than my last bolus would account for, but have to look at the tandem app on my phone to see what was done, so i often just go by the pump since i have to have that out to dose.

Any guidance here?
Thanks for your help.
Be kind. Im new to this tech. Never did get my Samsung watch4 LTE to display dexcom. Ugh, another day for that

3 Likes

I, among a number of others here, will bolus aggressively with the intent to treat the inevitable low that will follow.
I think it is really about how bad do you think it will get.
I have completely forgotten to bolus for a meal, and control IQ responds by ramping up my basals to eventually bring it back down.
If it was a big mistake though, I get aggressive with a large bolus, and then plan to eat a few more carbs when my BG gets back into a normal range (eat before you get low, that way it will slow the drop and help ease the curve at the bottom.)

3 Likes

It’s not Control iQ specific; the problem arises with any system that auto-corrects based on blood glucose. Without the auto-correct it is easy; just bolus for the food late. I do this all the time with the Omnipod Dash system, but it won’t work with the O5.