Strictly About Pizza

I know that we already have a pizza thread, but when on it, we have veered is many different directions, so the info that i have been looking for i have not found. so here goes:

i would like to eat 2 slices of regular cheese pizza. NYC style. not the stuff you make at home. not the thin crusted pies. just the kind you find in a pizza joint from a hot oven. not a brick oven style. just a regular, old fashioned pizza pie.

with that said, i have been experimenting for several years now and have been unable to figure out how to bolus for 2 slices and have something resembling a flatline. in the past, and i am on a pump, i have always used a dual bolus, but it has been dificult to figure how much insulin to give up front, and how to bolus for the extended period. also, how many hours should i be bolusing for. tomorrow, my husband and i are going to our most cherished pizza joint in Brooklyn NY, called Fascoti’s. (if you are ever our way, this is the place to go.)

i am going to try a 40/60% split over 2.5 hours, bolusing for coverage of 80 grms of carbs for 2 large slices. i dont use a dexcom, so i will have to do multiple finger sticks.

for all of you out there who love to enjoy pizza, please open up your mouths (LOL) and chime in. i think that pizza is an all time classic meal that gives many of us at FUD challenges. lets share our experiences here.

all the best, and i look forward to hearing back from you. thanks,
DM

3 Likes

i lok up on the internet the number of carbs that it would be. then i do a combo bolus of 50% 50%. this is how i hand pizza.

2 Likes

This is what we do for Liam using the Omnipod

Assuming 1 slice = 35 grams (he usually eats only 1 slice, but sometimes 2), we use the Extended Bolus feature. 25% up front and the other 75% over the next hour. In addition to this, we have a Temp Basal created that gives him 95% more basal over the next 3 - 4 hours.