Scuba Diving with Type 1

@Katers87 I’ve been diving on and off for about 29 years now. My favorite location is in the Bahama’s, near Bimini Island. Water clarity is between 50 and 150ft. My deepest dive was to a depth of 119ft with a visibility of 50 to 70ft. I have found on deep dive (i.e. below 100ft that the nitrogen narcosis starts at 109ft, and can affect my judgement of where my BS is. IF I’m diving, I have found that if I am planning on a long dive, that I have to go just outside of traditional limits with my BS, if I’m planning on being under water for more than 45 minutes I’ll start my dive with a BS of 200ml/dl(Disclaimer: I worked with my Endo and got a lot of info from Divers Alert Network a.k.a. DAN.) DAN is located at Duke University, and has a lot of great, smart and helpful medical staff, research, and information on Hyperbaric Medicine.

You would need to get certified to scuba dive. The process has changed a little bit since I started, but the requirements will be mostly the same. You will need to start with a pool class (they will teach you the basics of scuba in a pool where it is a safer environment to learn. After you complete the training in the pool, you will have to take a Basic Open Water Course that will review everything you learned in the pool class, and help you get comfortable in the open water.