Pump and blood sugar idiosyncracies

Hi. I currently use the Omnipod with Humalog insulin. Prior to that I used the Medtronic pump. I switched it out because we have a pool and I prefer not being attached to something that can’t go in the water. I have been pumping since 1997. I don’t recall noticing this in those early years, but I was also using Novolog insulin until my insurance company decided they knew better than my dr.

My normal routine consists of check BS then bolus for the food I plan to eat. About 15 minutes after I bolus, but before I eat anything, my CGM will tell me that my BS jumped between 50 - 90 points. If I test my blood, it will confirm the CGM reading. Has anyone else experienced this? If so, what type insulin do you use? Have you gotten any answers on why it happens?

Anything you can tell me is greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Morning yes.

Mostly any other time of the day - no.

We use Humalog and have not noticed this behavior, on the other hand, we usually prebolus by 45 minutes, not 15. So the insulin has time to work in my son.

God how i hate those pesky know-it-all insurance companies!!

i know that they are supposed to be the same/similar, but perhaps Humulog just isnt for you. did you have this same problem when you were using the NovoLog?

i used to use Humolog and switched over to NovoLog but didnt have any substantial reaction.

1 Like

Yeah - the infamous “dawn phenomena”. but this happens whenever I bolus, not just the mornings. Thanks for thinking about it.

1 Like