Omnipod infusion site itching

I’m new at podding (only on 2nd pod) it starts to get itchy and slightly sore at the infusion site (just where the cannula goes into the skin) after 2 days, nothing I can’t tolerate but wonder if others have this same experience

1 Like

Sometimes.

For me it just depends on the location of the pod. Some locations itch, and others don’t.

Maybe try some other places.

1 Like

thanks. due to change tonight and will try abdomen , have only done arms so far.

2 Likes

Yah, it happens to me too for all pumps. Pods and Fiasp have been among the worst combination so far. I’ll use an OTC cortisone cream after taking the site off if it gets really bad (for me less than 1 time/month).

1 Like

thanks, ill give cortisone a try, several hours since changing pod and the old site is, if anything, itchier than before

1 Like

Arms are a problem for me; too little fat too much needle. The pods are prone to fail however, being an older T1D, my skin has been subjected to many thousands of injections so doesn’t tend to itch much.

If you are using Fiasp that will be a problem - Fiasp contains a skin irritant (the ‘adjutant’) that is intended to produce blood flow (as a result of the irritation) to enhance the insulin adsorption rate. In that case I would suggest talking to your endo about using a pure GMO insulin. It doesn’t make much, if any, difference if you are using a pump. I use Fiasp (at the behest of my insurance company); I don’t much care about the insulin and I can’t be bothered to ask my endo to change the prescription, way too much work, so I stick with it. If I had the time I wouldn’t use it.

3 Likes

I started drying out the cannula window after priming, before pod application. I’d read that others had experienced skin irritation at the cannula site theorizing that the primed insulin in the window at application sits on the skin and irritates things? So I use a little bit of tissue to dry out the window before applying.