Mom to tween T1D daughter

My 12 yr old daughter was diagnosed with T1D at the age of 4. She started wearing a Dexcom CGM soon after diagnosis and an Animas Ping the following year.
We recently upgraded to the G6 and will have to switch to a different pump next year, likely Tandem.
I am a retired mechanical engineer and I enjoy website design and a little light programming. My husband is a software developer. We are both major geeks.
I quit working to be a stay at home mom and have homeschooled my kids for four years.
Currently struggling with letting my daughter be with her friends without us around because she isn’t paying attention to Dex alarms or checking BG.

3 Likes

Welcome! With your background, you certainly will fit in with this crowd.

My son was diagnosed at 12, and is currently 15, so I have seen quite a bit.

When you say she isn’t paying attention, do you mean she is getting so low that she isn’t able to function, or that she is allowing herself to go high while playing with her friends?

If it is the former, then I would be worried. If it is the latter, then, in my opinion you need to let her have some room to be with her friends.

1 Like

It is mostly the latter. Whenever we give her that room, she ends up with a BG of 500, feeling sick, with us having to deal with the mess, often all night. This happens every single time we’ve dropped her off for an afternoon activity or sleepover with her friends. Even when an adult reminds her to check or tells her that her Dex is beeping, she doesn’t check.
On top of that, we think that she is starting to lie about checking and she’s not doing what we’ve agreed on right after taking about it, so there is a major trust issue.
Also, even when she is home, she constantly “forgets” to bolus and “doesn’t hear” her Dex alarms.