Long term pump use and infusion sets

I have been using an insulin pump for a little over 30 years. Most of the time it was a Medtronic although I did have a Disetronic for a few years. Bottom line - I am out of sites to put the infusion set and have squeaked by for several years with no really good spots. I’m of average to thin build and a little more muscular than the average person my age (I like to work out). For the first 5-8 years of pumping I didn’t have good insurance so I would keep my needles in longer than recommended which caused scar tissue. In my defense though, I didn’t have any support and my doctor (back then) never told me why I should change it every 3 days. I use Silhouettes, Sure-Ts and Quick-Sets, depending on where I might be able to find a spot. Over the years I have talked to my doctors, nurse educators, pump reps and even spoke with someone at Joslin. No one has been able to help me. At one point, my endo stated he didn’t believe me so I saw his nurse and started taking off my clothes. She is like, whoa, what are you doing? I said, I’m tired of everyone not believing me. Find a spot on me for an infusion site. Unfortunately, she couldn’t help me either. I put in a Silhouette yesterday in my stomach and it stopped working this morning. I then put in a Silhouette in my inner thigh (only place I really have some fat) and about 10 minutes ago I had to rip it out because it hurt so much. Sorry for the long post but does anyone with long term pump use have any suggestions? I just told my husband that he might have to put it in my butt and I will sit on one cheek for a few days. Sadly, I am serious :frowning:

4 Likes