Levemir split dose peak

Firstly, apologies if this doesn’t make sense, I’m really foggy after a 3am hypo!

I’ve been having a number of those around the 3-4am mark. I know that it means that I have too much IOB, and especially since they are definitely in the peak hours of Levemir. I split my Levemir dose. I have it 12 hours apart.

As I’m still a newbie with my cgm, I had increased my daytime dose, as I found with my cgm data, I was going high after lunch and staying high. So I upped that by only 2 units and that has been working well. My DE tried telling me that I should increase my night dose as well, but I did the opposite and reduced it, by the same amount that I increased my day dose, so that my daily basal stayed the same. Now that I have been having a lot of overnight hypos, I’m going to pull right back on the night dose, but I’m wondering if the 5-6 hour peak would be more ‘potent’ considering that technically Levemir is supposed to last for 24 hours?

I do have a large drop overnight. I was 10.8 mmol when I went to bed, shortly after having my night dose, and the low alarm woke me at 3am with a 3.5 mmol and I dropped even further half hour later, to 3 mmol (which was probably my choice of hypo fix - jelly babies are taking too long to be suitable anymore).

4 Likes

Hi @SBee,
I made a spreadsheet that is useful for looking at basal numbers. It lets you put in the various times and doses and also the amounts, and it shows you a graph of how the basal’s start and stop and if they are stacking, like if you have two on top of each other.

Levemir’s duration is dose dependent. The more you take (per kilogram of body weight), the longer it lasts!

We can go through this if you would like. It could be that just reducing the nighttime dose will fix it. But it could also be that your two doses are stacked.

It looks like this, here is just an example: