I don't appreciate much about T1D, but I do appreciate this:

I don’t appreciate much about T1D, but I do appreciate these three things that it’s added to my life: perspective, priorities, and clarity.

I was diagnosed at age 21. It was eye opening after diagnosis to see the cause and effect of my lifestyle choices on my blood sugar. I was a self-funded college student with zero safety net who was trying to figure out how I was going to make a good life for myself in adulthood. Which translated into me doing every single extracurricular in my field so that I could find at least one open door upon graduation. I wasn’t the heavy partying type, but I did burn the candle at both ends between all of my school commitments and socializing. Once I was diagnosed, I could quantify how much a lack of sleep impacted my health. Or living on Cheez Whiz and Hot Pockets. Or not exercising. Or being stressed out from over-committing to extracurriculars.

Respecting the natural limiting factors of good health (sleep, hydration, exercise, stress mitigation) has made me soooo much happier and well-rounded since diagnosis. I see people in my peer group who have been their own worst enemy because of how hard they live, and they don’t even realize it. I might have been one of those people were it not for my blood sugar showing me the results of my choices.