Discussing the senate bill

The new Senate Bill is now available, for those who want to actually read what’s in the bill:

A basic article from a non-partisan source

@TiaG It’s not that I necessarily disagree with KHN’s analysis, but to call them non partisan is certainly a stretch. They were vocal cheerleaders for the ACA, and have always seemed to take a quite liberal bent on medical issues.

Well they’re supposed to be non-partisan according to their mission statement and mandate, they’re funded by a non-profit that aims to be completely nonpartisan although KHN is editorially independent.

Whether they succeed or not is up for debate (I am a journalist and I am somewhat skeptical of the notion that anyone can truly be “non partisan” unless they live in a state of pure ignorance and came from the planet Zod two seconds ago. I think a better metric is just how hard they focus on getting at the truth, how robust their fact-checking is, and who they contact as sources. The truth, as nebulous and squishy as that can be, is ultimately what we’re all after, I hope.)

I personally don’t like most center left/right reports, because they lean one way or the other and don’t let the reader know what trade-offs they made. I much prefer reading far left/right reporting on the same subject, and then tease out the middle that works for me. At least in the far-leaning reports you know the direction and can infer appropriately. Also the far-leaning reports often have very interesting tidbits that get culled out of the more center-leaning reports.

Truth is individual.

1 Like

Do you guys think this bill has any chance of passing? Will these senators cave to pressure from fellow senators?

I don’t think anyone can be completely ‘neutral’ and I don’t think that’s a problem as long as journalists are honest about their biases.

Truth is individual