Dexcom G6 readings not accurate

Hey guys, I got my Dexcom G6 couple of days ago and my readings are way off when I compare it to my old school glucometer. It would say sugar level below 40 but actually it was 90 something. I calibrated it but still facing issues. I’m new to this kinda machine so I dunno if I should base my insulin dosage entirely on it.
Anyone else had this issue?

1 Like

If your readings are way off, then definitely don’t base your insulin decisions on them. Sometimes it may take a bit of time to get in sync with your blood sugar, but it sounds like that isn’t happening for you. Might be a bad placement or a bad sensor. If it stays consistently different from your blood sugar, call Dexcom and they will replace it.

The sensor does lag your blood sugar by 15 minutes, so if your blood sugar was changing rapidly that could explain it, but if your blood sugar was flat at 90 and the sensor was flat at 40 that is a reason to call Dexcom. Where did you place this one?

5 Likes

I got it from the CVS pharmacy. I called the tech support and they told me that the readings can be off by 30% or 30 units. I missed that part. It could be the placement I think. It’s been pretty stable for the day but it shows random drops when I know it’s not that low.
I’ve placed the unit on the right abdomen.

While it isn’t a “recommended” placement, my son has a lot of luck with the back of his arm for the placements. While it is true that they have loosened up their warranty terms, 40 reading with an actual of 90 is off by more than the 30% and I would get it replaced if it persists.

As for the random drops, does it trend down or suddenly drop straight down? Those straight down drops are usually caused by pressure for us.

3 Likes

Hi, @Zohairraza! Welcome. :slightly_smiling_face: