Colonoscopy and Basal rate

Any suggestions for me regarding Colonoscopy and Basal rates on my pump? I have had numerous experiences with this lovely procedure, but I am new to changing basal rates.

I plan to have diet and regular 7UP on hand to regulate my BG level - I am curious to hear how others have done with this.

1 Like

In “theory”, if you are not eating anything, your basal rate should maintain your BG nice and level. But of course, we know things don’t always work the way they are supposed to!

Something like this would not generally lead to a BG drop. Usually things that are stressful to an individual - doctor or dentist visits, traffic court, presentations at work - anything like that can raise your BG.

But to be on the safe side, since the procedure is not too long, and you will be possibly doped up a bit, you’d want to cut your basal a little bit before you begin, and then turn it off for the procedure, just to be safe. Also, if they remove a polyp and you need to watch what you eat for a while afterwards, you don’t want to have a low that forces you to eat or drink.

There is not much downside to just turning it off while you are going through the procedure. You may spike a bit, but you can fix that after. It just removes a risk of dropping or being low after.

If you have a CGM, and someone is with you that you trust, ask them to watch your CGM and decide if they should turn the basal back on for you when you are done. Depending on the anesthesia used, your mind may not be clear enough to make that decision for a while until it wears off.

So as a general suggestion (it will depend on how nervous you are with dropping low), maybe cut 50-75% for an hour before, and then turn it off completely while you go into the procedure.

1 Like

@Spinlady During your prep it should not be difficult to control your Bg while you are just on basal. You may bed that regular 7 up!