Birth Control for Hormone Stabilization: A Research Thread

Since I am not satisfied with the information I have received (well, largely NOT received) from my GP, Endo and OB/GYN regarding (1) the safety of various birth control options for diabetics, (2) how cyclical female hormones impact insulin resistance, and (3) how to strategically use hormonal birth control to moderate the effect of cyclical female hormones on blood sugar control, I am starting this thread as a compilation of reputable research and anecdotal evidence since so much of diabetic self-care is generated by story-sharing.

I am not a doctor. I am making no recommendations to anyone.

This thread will be link heavy, but I’ll try to put the high points in each post as much as possible.

Please feel free to chime in, share your knowledge, share your questions, challenge, etc.

5 Likes

Overview of Hormonal Birth Control Options can be found at this link:

This article is from “American Family Physician” published 9/15/2010. It gives a great chart overview of hormonal birth control options, as well as considerations for prescribing to women with underlying medical conditions.

It also states, “Combined hormonal contraceptives can be used safely in women with a range of medical conditions, including well-controlled hypertension, uncomplicated diabetes, depression, uncomplicated valvular heart disease, migraine headaches without aura, systemic lupus erythematosus without antiphospholipid antibodies, human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection, thyroid disease, anemia, and uncomplicated liver disease.”