Activation curves for different types of Insulin

This handy chart shows compared activation curves for Novolog, Humalog, (Novolin) R, NPH (Humulin/ Novolin N), Lantus, Levemir, human and analog mixtures, Tresiba, R500, Toujeo and Afrezza.

courtesy GroupHealth, heavily edited and added to by @Kmichel

A partial original document is here.

Hopefully, this can serve as a reference in the future. As always, these charts are generic and indicative only: they may not reflect what happens to an individual user.

[EDIT] This post has been modified multiple times as the chart has evolved.

End of wiki ---------- comments start here

7 Likes

I like the chart. Very useful. I am surprised in a web search I could not find a chart that included some of the newer insulins in it. Here is a link to a table that claims it is a chart (but isn’t). I guess I will have to do an actual chart for it.

2 Likes

I’m no photoshop expert, obviously.

4 Likes

I thought Toujeo worked the same as Lantus, just in a more potent concentration? Is that wrong?

Yes - my understanding that Toujeo has a longer duration curve than lantus - here is from the product sheet. (This assumes that you reached a steady state of Toujeo from previous days dosage so it is not the same as in the chart in the top post.)

3 Likes

Kevin, that was a great idea!!!

If you want send me the pics, I can try to do as seamless as job as possible, and post it at the top of the thread, with acknowledgment to you of course.!

1 Like

I wonder if that’s actually supposed to be different from Lantus or just looks different because of the assumptions that it’s “multiple doses” in the toujeo profile and not in the Lantus

In my understanding toujeo is just u300 Lantus, I cant conceptuslize how it would last any longer

1 Like