About cgm cost

Hi All,
Sorry if i opened this topic in the wrong thread

i’m 25years old, i have type 1
I’m new in cgm , live cgm like dexcom , blucon …i found out about them last year(2018)
this technology doesn’t available yet in my country

My questions:
-Is the cgm sensor need to be replaced every time? there’s no way to use one for 6 month at least?(cost purpose)
-which is the better live cgm or the one that need to scan every 5 minutes ?
-what is the best cgm ?
-which is the cgm that have the smallest sensor?
-where i can buy this online? with the availablity of the sensors online to order (international shipping, not amazon or ebay)
-is sensor can be removed? for exemple if i want to sleep without it and re-install it in my body in the morning
-is the sensor, lets say the one that need to be replaced every 15days, can be used more than that time? for exemple, i use every syringe 5 times or it’s something related to the cgm device that will not accept it after that time?

any other suggestions for low cost and something that replace the regular cgm with small sensor(the one that need to take blood everytime)

Thanks

1 Like

Cgm’s in America requires a prescription to purchase. You can find on e-bay and such. Canada does not require prescriptions from what I hear but don’t know how that works with ordering from out of country.
Depending on what you want to do with it (integrate with a pump or just want for bg management) freestyle libre flash glucose monitoring system is the least expensive to my knowledge or lack there of. If your looking to go to pump the dexcom g-6 is what a lot of people like, but pricey.
To be the devils advocate, there are so good test strip packages out there with supporting apps. That are very good and really cost effective. (I use my sugar, get app. Meter and unlimited test strips for less than 50$ a month, also use cgm integrated with my pump) hopefully you can network with some people where you live and see what they use.

2 Likes