A rookie's questions for pen users - am I doing this right?

I use a Levimir pen for my basal with the shortest needles (4mm, I think). I am still new at this and figuring things out.

1. My D-nurse told me if I bruise at the injection site it indicates that I am pressing too hard. Being a needle-phobe means that I am SUPER slow and careful when doing my injections and even so I still have yellow bruising all over the various areas I inject. Maybe I just bruise easily. I am curious if this is common. Am I doing it wrong? Is there some trick to avoiding it? As much as I respect everything my nurse taught me, I am worried about getting stressed over something that is totally not a thing. The bruises go away like normal bruises, but even as I get more experienced using the pen I am not bruising myself any less.

2. Have any of you ever gotten a “dull” needle? I’ve had a few bad test strips, but this would be the first time a needle failed me. And by failed, I am saying that it was painful, difficult to penetrate (in an area that never is) and I bled for a while after (I rarely have and only a drop). I stopped because I couldn’t make myself push any harder and the needle wasn’t even half-way in. I dumped the needle tip, the dosage and started over. The second try was fine. I am thinking it was the needle and not me, but don’t know if I am being ridiculous. And could I have/should I have dumped the needle tip, screwed in a new one and just used the already primed dose?

3. Burning sensation? I have been on the same insulin, inject in the same general areas, etc, etc. My Levimir pen is kept at room temp and before I start a new one, I get it acclimated. And yet, randomly I will have an injection that feels like I am forcing liquid fire into my body. It can last for about 5 minutes. I can handle the sporadic pain, but am again wondering if I am doing something wrong.

I appreciate the feedback! :slight_smile: .

1 Like